This week the world has lost two masters of artistry, what a start to 2016.

Music fans around the world were left devastated on Monday when the news of David Bowie’s passing spread quickly across the inter-webs. Bowie died aged 69 following an 18 month battle with cancer. Of course everyone knows at least one David Bowie song but to be honest, I wasn’t as saddened as others were about his death, and I feel that probably a lot of people my age were the same.

But today, a mere four days after Bowie’s death, we lost Alan Rickman – and that struck a chord. This afternoon at 13.02 pm, I received a text from my mother telling me that Alan Rickman had died – I couldn’t believe it. I immediately grabbed my phone, opened the BBC news app and sure enough – it was the top story. Since then, tributes from fans and fellow actors have been flooding social media for this truly great actor who portrayed so many memorable characters. But for me, his most memorable was Professor Severus Snape.

For my generation, Harry Potter was our childhood. We grew up reading the books, watching the films and most of us are still waiting patiently on our Hogwarts letter. Snape was an intriguing character right from the beginning, always the assumed villain but never the actual culprit. The chapter ‘The Prince’s Tale’ in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows will forever remain my favourite in all of the Harry Potter books for it was the moment everyone understood why Snape did what he did and why he behaved so toward Harry. For me, it was the moment that solidified him as one of the best characters in the series. Seeing that portrayed on screen was magnificent, Alan Rickman was perfect. I cried a lot during the last instalment of the Harry Potter series but never so much as I did in that moment.

The world has lost a true great today. But even though he is gone, he will be remembered.

Always.

tumblr_m7syd5DoVH1rwhttlo1_1280

 

 

 

