Just a Girl Standing in Front of a Boy

‘My love story may not be the sort you read about in books or see in films. But when it comes to my own life, you can keep your fabulous highs and I’ll happily steer clear of the terrible lows.’

4-stars

As a massive Notting Hill fan, when I saw the title of this book I just had to buy it – and I’m so glad that I did. I finished this on Monday, making it the fourth book I’ve read this summer (if you know me, that is a massive achievement) and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a roller-coaster ride and an incredibly heart-warming read, that had me laughing out loud from the first pages.

From the beginning I was certain of three things:

  1. I wanted Jenny and Phillippa to be my friends
  2. I hated Matt and wanted to make him feel pain
  3. Joe King is the most perfect human being ever

Matt was literally the worst boyfriend ever. It was painful, as a reader, to have him shit all over Jenny all the time – especially when talking about the wedding. After everything she’d been through, with Steve and Matt, she deserved all the love that Joe King was giving her ❤ It all came so easy in the beginning so of course there had to be some obstacles for them to overcome before they could be completely happy.

One of my favourite things about this novel was her relationship with her mum and how they were able to rebuild it after how shitty her father was to both of them. I was crying real tears reading that letter her mum left her, everything became so clear then. I knew there had to be a reason for Joe breaking up with her and thought that was such a great way to bring the couple even closer together. The ending was perfect, the last line left my mouth hanging open. It literally made me so happy.

Now, I am currently half way through Always The Bridesmaid by Lindsey Kelk and I’m loving it, I’ve also ordered another from Lucy-Anne Holmes, (Un)like a Virgin and the first two in Lindsey Kelk’s ‘Girl’ series. Exciting!

This definitely is the summer of reading!

Until next time,

sig

