So the first few months of 2015 have been pretty stressful for me – between managing essays and dissertations, having a part-time job and trying to figure out what the hell I’m going to do when I graduate. I have also been wrestling with the question: Do I even want to be a journalist? And for the moment, I think the answer is no. When I first realised this I thought ‘Shit! What am I going to do now, have I just wasted 3 years of my life?’ but then I took to the interwebs and found that only 1 in 5 journalism students actually go into journalism and that 80% of journalism graduates find employment within 6 months of graduating so that made me feel a little better about myself.

I am by no means ruling out journalism completely as I’ll always have my degree (hopefully) and qualifications and writing is something I do enjoy but for me, it’s a matter of the right kind of journalism. If I got a call tomorrow offering me a job writing about and reviewing TV shows, I’d take it with no hesitation. I just don’t see myself working at a local paper writing stories about garden clubs and fundraisers (no offence). But I’d like to build up more of a portfolio first which is why I still intend to keep updating this blog, hopefully a lot more often than I have been lately.

After fretting and freaking out for months about what I’m going to do once I graduate, I’ve learnt that I just need to do my research, figure out what I want to do and just apply for everything and anything relating to that field. I am currently looking into other careers and jobs I can get into with my degree in journalism; PR and Advertising being two that I think I will look into.

Anyway, I am currently working on my last ever academic essay on the Vietnam War and how it was reported alongside my dissertation on Fostering in Northern Ireland which is coming along quite nicely. I am also editor for my assessed Online Newsday this week which I am very much looking forward to so let’s hope it all goes well!

Just an update, ’til next time

sig

