Festivals are a HUGE part of summer in the UK, so this year I finally lost my festival virginity and headed off to V Festival in Chelmsford with all my uni buddies – and it was incredible.

v fest

Now, those of you who know me will know that I’m not a very outdoors-y person so in any other circumstance 3 days camping would’ve been a nightmare but I coped surprisingly well. We arrived on Friday morning and after what felt like hours of lugging all our stuff through a field, we reached our home for the weekend: the yellow camp site.

On Saturday, we headed into the arena early to see Fuse ODG sing different versions of the same song – or that’s what it sounded like. After heading back to the tent for some vodka slushies, we ventured back to arena for Alan Carr, Kaiser Chiefs, Bastille, Ed Sheeran and Mr Justin Timberlake.

Ed Sheeran is just amazing – it’s literally just him and his guitar and it’s perfection. I swear, and I’m sure I’m not the only one, but I just melted when he sang ‘Thinking Out Loud’. He was followed by JT. Now, Justin Timberlake is just one of those people that you don’t actually think is real, he is the definition of cool. The crowd participation in ‘Senorita’ where the guys sing then the girls sing was pure awesome and his acoustic version of ‘Not A Bad Thing’ was so beautiful.  It was so surreal seeing someone as famous as him performing right in front of you – a definite highlight of the weekend.

vfest2

 

Sunday brought with it a whole new host of amazing acts including M People, Jess Glynne, Sam Smith, Rizzle Kicks, Rita Ora, Paolo Nutini and The Killers. After being very excited to see Paolo Nutini, I was a little disappointed with his set as he didn’t really do any of his old stuff and what he did do, he slowed it way down. I mean, ‘Pencil Full Of Lead’ is not a song to be slowed down, and the song we were most looking forward to hearing – ‘Last Request’ – he didn’t even sing! On the plus side, he was looking exceptionally hot – minus the massive love bite on his neck, which everyone noticed. The Killers were unbelievable, they put on such a great show, and even though they’ve been in the business for years and are one of the biggest bands on the planet, you can still tell how happy and appreciative they are that they get to do what they love for a living. The look on Brandon Flowers face when the crowd was singing his lyrics back to him was priceless.

So aside from getting a full can of beer chucked at my head waiting for The Killers, my first festival experience was a definite success. Would I go again? Yes, but I’m not sure I’d camp again. I have this OCD thing when it comes to washing my hands and that anti-bacterial thing they have in the port-a-loos just doesn’t do it for me, it’s not soap!

vfest

Top 3 Performances

  1. Justin Timberlake: SexyBack
  2. The Killers: Mr Brightside
  3. Ed Sheeran: The A Team

People I Wish I’d Seen

  1. Kodaline
  2. Jason Derulo
  3. Train

Until next time,

sig

