When I first heard the news about Peaches Geldof’s death, my first thought was ‘how could she do that to her children?’ – I know that thought might have been a little presumptuous as, at that point, nothing had been confirmed about how she died. I so hoped that it was a tragic accident, however, it turned out that I was right…

There is no doubt that the death of the 25-year-old mother of two is an absolute tragedy, however I have to admit I was somewhat disappointed when it was revealed yesterday that heroin was ‘likely to have played a role in her death.’

After reading this comment piece on the Independent, I felt I had to say something. While I agree that the heroin aspect does not make her death less tragic; I do believe it makes it very selfish. Peaches left behind 2 young boys who now have to grow up without a mother because she did what her own mother did to her when she was just 11-years-old – she knew what it was like to lose a mother and to grow up without one, yet she has left her sons, Astala and Phaedra the same way. No child should have to grow up without a mother, and I just hope that these two young boys find a happier, more fulfilling future than their mother and grandmother did. If I was in Tom Cohen’s position, I would keep my two boys away from the spotlight for as long as possible.

It is wrong to say that overdose victims do not deserve sympathy. Suicide, in any form, is difficult to comprehend for an outsider looking in on the situation and we will never know why Peaches chose, if that was the case, to end her life in the way that she did. In fact, that her death was due to heroin makes it more tragic in a way as her family and everyone who loved her will have to continue on in their lives not knowing why she chose to die.

