Oh to be a great feature writer. That’s exactly what I want to be.

I’ve always struggled with the question “What kind of journalism do you want to do?” but today it all became a little clearer. Knowing from the beginning that I didn’t want to work in TV or radio, print journalism was always what I intended to go into once I finished university, but what kind of print journalism? Politics definitely wasn’t for me and even though I always fancied myself as a reporter interviewing celebrities on the red carpet at glamorous events like the Oscars or the Golden Globes, I had never thought about feature writing.

Features are a lot more in depth and they give you a chance to be more creative and more tools to entertain your reader. As part of my lecture on features this evening, I was asked to read this article by Ed Pilkington about the NFL footballer Dave Duerson who committed suicide as a result of a disease he acquired after suffering multiple head traumas because of the sport.

This article is written in a way that is so powerful that you feel every emotion possible by the time you’ve finished reading it, I literally couldn’t stop reading. Every aspect of this man’s tragic life captivated me and made me feel so sorry for him and his poor family. It’s amazing that something he loved so much eventually brought about his end. 

I can only hope that one day I will write something as moving as this.

As a writer all you really want is for your words to have an impact on someone, even if it’s only for a few minutes.

