http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2386444/SHONA-SIBARY-laments-loss-teen-daughters-individuality.html

Okay, so I know this isn’t really a news story but it struck me as odd that the woman who wrote this article seems to think that she has had no input in making her daughters “shallow”.

First, she talks about how her daughters only want to wear clothes from Topshop, not Primark and about how they love short shorts, crop tops and tight clothing as it’s what their ‘idols’ wear. Can I just ask, who buys them these clothes? Teenage girls of 15 and 13 surely don’t have the money to be buying clothes from Topshop all the time so obviously the mother is the one paying for it all. I am 19 years old and I don’t think I’ve ever bought anything from Topshop as it’s all ridiculously over-priced. My mother would NEVER have let me wear clothes like that when I was so young, no matter how much I might’ve wanted to.

Secondly, the little anecdote at the beginning of the article about the hair straighteners is the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard. Now, while I would never go anywhere overnight without my straighteners, I would not get bought a new pair just because I was forgetful enough to not pack them. If there is one thing these girls are, it’s spoiled, and that is not their fault.

“The girls consider it a crime worse than death to leave the house without mascara.”

Okay, first of all, it is a crime that you let your 13 year old daughter wear mascara. It really baffles me how, in situations like this, parents truly believe that they are doing nothing wrong. They blame it all on the media and popular culture. I understand that some people do get heavily influenced by what they see on TV and in magazines but there has to be a line. As a parent you need to put your foot down and show you’re children that there’s more to life than looking “perfect” and going shopping.

