I’m not really a fan of American reality shows, as they seem to make one about anything they can think of, but none of them particularly bothered me until I heard of ‘Toddlers and Tiaras’.

Children as young as 6 years old are being sexualised by their own parents: getting spray tans, hair extensions, fake eyelashes, fake nails & being covered in make up.

This is not how a 6 year old should look:

20130802-182920.jpg

A lot of the children who appear on the show act like grown ups and do not speak how a child should speak. Of course it’s not the child’s fault, it’s their parents who force them into it which leaves the child feeling like this is the norm.

I do not believe that children should be robbed of their childhood and forced by their parents into these beauty pageants at such a young age. Why any parent would want to do that to their child is beyond me. I mean we’re only children for a short amount of time and everyone deserves a happy, funfilled childhood.

